Walking Places

lonewalker 0

Lonewalker

Fell-walker, trig-pointer, peak-bagger, Wainwright-er & Pennine Way author, with a passion for long paths, malt whisky, fast cars & Man City. I have several long distance path reports on the website, along with a comprehensive list of hills and trig points I’ve visited throughout the UK Go to this Journal

Mark and Rachel 0

Mark & Rachel

Our names are Mark and Rachel. We are Sussex born and bred and have lived in Mid Sussex for all our married lives. Both of us have always had a love of the Great Outdoors but on our honeymoon in the Brecon Beacons in 1984 I thought that perhaps hill...

sharkey1 0

Sharkey’s Dream

My name is Paul Sharkey and I live in Wigan, Lancashire and at the ripe young age of 32 my passion (and I don’t use that word lightly) for the Lake District and fell walking began. Back in those days football was my sport, I played left back (badly) but...

DSCF3939 0

In The Corner

Hello. that’s me, Richard, not far from Angle Tarn. It was during my Coast to Coast in May 2009. I did it with a mate David (who took the photo). I also kept a diary, which I thought someone, somewhere might enjoy reading – hence this site. If you find...

benwick 0

Benwick Rambler

I’m Brian, a retired civil servant and I’ll be celebrating my 60th birthday on 30 June 2011; the planned completion date of my C2C walk. Although I spent my first 44 years living in Harrogate, on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales, I didn’t really take up walking until I...

herd of turtles 0

Herd of Turtles

herd of turtles: n. a group of friends who walk long distance paths together. Identifiable by their slow pace, general faffing about, and unwillingness to walk more than 15 miles a day. My name is Sarah and I’ve decided to record our escapades. I get many questions from friends and...

rambling keith 0

Rambling Keith

I live in Stourbridge in the West Midlands with my wife Liz. I have been a motor vehicle engineer, a college lecturer and now a driving instructor of 7 years. I am near to finishing work and looking forward to doing more walking and exploring my hobbies. I have had...

wanderlust 0

Wanderlust

I am a thirty-something author of teenage fiction (soon to branch into adult crime) living in London and working as a Facilities Officer for a major publishing company. I had a interest in walking the Pennine Way for some years and finally got around to tackling it with my brother...